Who's Online
187 user(s) are online (
168 user(s) are browsing
Forums )
Members: 0
Guests: 187
more...
Topic options
View mode
Newest First
Porting Augustus (Caesar 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/29 10:31
#1
Not too shy to talk
Joined: 2012/7/16 18:57Last Login
: 11/5 22:17
From Istanbul
Group:
Registered Users
@all
After Vanilla Conquer (C&C), I am now working on Augustus (open source new version of Ceaser 3 strategy game)
https://github.com/Keriew/augustus I am able to compile the executable with latest SDL 2.24 and SDL2 Mixer.
I am able to compile AmigaOS executable with newlib (I don't have the all libraries compiled for clib2 yet)
Now I have compiled Augustus port for OS4 and I have Ceaser3 data files (GOG version).
However when I run the game, Snoopy (SnoopDOS) shows that Amiga executable is adding "./" to in front of data files.
E.g. "./c3.eng" instead "c3.eng).
Any ideas how to solve it ? What am I doing wrong ?
The file related sources are in this directory
https://github.com/Keriew/augustus/tree/master/src/core
Edited by SinanSam460 on 2022/8/30 9:26:05
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester - AmigaOne X5000 - AmigaOne A1222 - Sam460ex
Re: Porting Augustus (Caeser 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/29 10:51
#2
Not too shy to talk
Joined: 2021/4/23 7:00Last Login
: Today 16:03
From Central Bohemia, Czech Republic
Group:
Registered Users
I am not expert with coding, but linux operates / and // in path the same way. I.e.: path/path2 = path//path2, /path = //path Can be possible that somewhere in the code "/" is added in case the path is not specified correctly (i.e. is without /)?
AmigaOS3: Amiga 1200AmigaOS4: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOne X1000MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook, Mac Mini, iMac, Powermac Quad
Re: Porting Augustus (Caeser 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/29 12:46
#3
Home away from home
Joined: 2006/12/2 3:55Last Login
: Yesterday 23:18
From Italy, Perugia
Group:
Registered Users
There is already a port for MorphOS, maybe can help you
https://github.com/BeWorld2018/augustus
Re: Porting Augustus (Caeser 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/29 12:59
#4
Just can't stay away
Joined: 2006/11/30 11:30Last Login
: 11/18 16:17
From Finland
Group:
Registered Users
@SinanSam460 Just link the executable with -lunix and it will fix those pathing issues.
Re: Porting Augustus (Caeser 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/29 13:31
#5
Just popping in
Joined: 2021/7/23 21:46Last Login
: 7/20 7:58
From Älvsbyn, Sweden
Group:
Registered Users
@SinanSam460
static const char * get_case_corrected_file (const char * dir , const char * filepath )
{
static char corrected_filename [ 2 * FILE_NAME_MAX ];
corrected_filename [ 2 * FILE_NAME_MAX - 1 ] = 0 ;
size_t dir_len = 0 ;
size_t dir_skip = 0 ;
if (! dir || !* dir ) {
dir = "." ;
dir_skip = 2 ;
}
dir_len = strlen ( dir );
strncpy ( corrected_filename , dir , 2 * FILE_NAME_MAX - 1 );
if ( dir_len ) {
if ( dir [ dir_len - 1 ] != '/' ) {
corrected_filename [ dir_len ] = '/' ;
dir_len ++;
}
}
do note that this isn't the only place probably but you have to #ifdef __amigaos4__
around for instance if (!dir||!*dir)
remove the dir = "." and check the remaining parts
Re: Porting Augustus (Caeser 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/29 14:01
#6
Not too shy to talk
Joined: 2020/1/14 0:50Last Login
: Today 18:59
From Indiana, USA
Group:
Registered Users
@SinanSam460 You sir are a rock star! Caesar 3 is my fav city building/management game, and I was always hoping someone will look into Augustus and port it to AOS 4.1. Thank you! Gameplay of Augustus is awesome, bugs fixed, improvements to the original game added. I've completed Augustus, both military and economic missions last year, but I am ready for a new campaign!
Re: Porting Augustus (Caeser 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/29 14:11
#7
Not too shy to talk
Joined: 2012/7/16 18:57Last Login
: 11/5 22:17
From Istanbul
Group:
Registered Users
@salass00 Thanks it worked.. I got it working based on BeWorld's MorphOS port.. I'll test it and will post a video soon. If all goes well, I will upload it to OS4Depot.
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester - AmigaOne X5000 - AmigaOne A1222 - Sam460ex
Re: Porting Augustus (Caeser 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/29 16:00
#8
Quite a regular
Joined: 2017/8/25 17:48Last Login
: 11/16 7:13
From Norway
Group:
Registered Users
Wow, that is excellent news! Well done, SinanSam460!
Looking forward to give it a try!
Re: Porting Augustus (Caesar 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/30 9:22
#9
Not too shy to talk
Joined: 2012/7/16 18:57Last Login
: 11/5 22:17
From Istanbul
Group:
Registered Users
@all
Augustus is now available on OS4Depot.net
http://www.os4depot.net/?function=sho ... ame/strategy/augustus.lha Here is a short video of Augustus on Sam460:
VIDEO
Installation and Running Instructions:
---------------------------------------------
1) Purchase Ceaser III from GOG or Steam
https://www.gog.com/game/caesar_3 and install the game on Windows
2) Copy the Caesar III directory to AmigaOS 4.
3)Please download and unpack open sources assets archive:
https://augustus.josecadete.net/download/latest/release/windows 4) Please copy the "assets", "maps", "manual" folders (from the archive you just have downloaded) to Caeser III folder on AmigaOS 4
5) Please copy augustus and augustus.ini to file to same directory on AmigaOS 4.
6) Run the game
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester - AmigaOne X5000 - AmigaOne A1222 - Sam460ex
Re: Porting Augustus (Caesar 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/30 10:09
#10
Home away from home
Joined: 2007/9/11 12:31Last Login
: 11/19 7:43
From Russia
Group:
Registered Users
@Sinan
Seems works on my x5000 as well:
VIDEO
Did you use newlib in end or afxgroup's clib2 ? If newlib, which ones 3d party libs you miss for clib2 ?
Btw, what i noticed, that when you move window, output flooded with SDL information about "window move to coordinates blblabla", maybe worth to disable ?
Edited by kas1e on 2022/8/30 10:32:21 Edited by kas1e on 2022/8/30 10:59:06
Re: Porting Augustus (Caesar 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/30 10:49
#11
Site Builder
Joined: 2006/12/2 23:57Last Login
: Today 9:16
From Athens/Dublin
Group:
Registered Users Webmasters
@SinanSam460
Great work. Well done man.
And of course thanks to BeWorld for helping out and Capehill for his continuous work on SDL
Quote:
when you move window, output flooded with SDL information about "window move to coordinates blblabla", maybe worth to disable ? Yeah, that would be great to be disabled, because output like that steals frames from the games.
Re: Porting Augustus (Caesar 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/30 10:55
#12
Not too shy to talk
Joined: 2021/4/23 7:00Last Login
: Today 16:03
From Central Bohemia, Czech Republic
Group:
Registered Users
@SinanSam460 Very nice work! And many thanks... I will test on X1000 and Sam440ep-flex (there I wonder if it will be playable) I see on video that speed on Sam460ex is sufficient.
AmigaOS3: Amiga 1200AmigaOS4: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOne X1000MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook, Mac Mini, iMac, Powermac Quad
Re: Porting Augustus (Caesar 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/30 11:24
#13
Not too shy to talk
Joined: 2012/7/16 18:57Last Login
: 11/5 22:17
From Istanbul
Group:
Registered Users
@walkero
Thanks for nice words.
I have disabled SDL_Log during gameplay, so these messages won't be displayed.
New V1.01 archive is at OS4Depot Upload section:
http://www.os4depot.net/index.php?function=uploads
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester - AmigaOne X5000 - AmigaOne A1222 - Sam460ex
Re: Porting Augustus (Caesar 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/30 12:55
#14
Not too shy to talk
Joined: 2012/7/16 18:57Last Login
: 11/5 22:17
From Istanbul
Group:
Registered Users
@kas1e I used newlib this time.. For Clib2, I think I am missing tinyfiledialogs and expat libraries.
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester - AmigaOne X5000 - AmigaOne A1222 - Sam460ex
Re: Porting Augustus (Caesar 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/30 14:05
#15
Home away from home
Joined: 2007/9/11 12:31Last Login
: 11/19 7:43
From Russia
Group:
Registered Users
@Sinan expat ones are ./configure;make , and tinyfiledialogs as i can see just a .c file you linked with, not a stub lib ?
Re: Porting Augustus (Caesar 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/30 16:59
#16
Not too shy to talk
Joined: 2012/7/16 18:57Last Login
: 11/5 22:17
From Istanbul
Group:
Registered Users
@kas1e Do you think clib2 version will improve the performance ?
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester - AmigaOne X5000 - AmigaOne A1222 - Sam460ex
Re: Porting Augustus (Caesar 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/30 17:27
#17
Home away from home
Joined: 2007/9/11 12:31Last Login
: 11/19 7:43
From Russia
Group:
Registered Users
@Sinan Probabaly not, just it can be another test case to be sure clib2 is ok to be used in bigger projects :) But in terms of port, if everything fine already and good enough, then it will be not better with lib2 probabaly.
Re: Porting Augustus (Caesar 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/30 19:53
#18
Just popping in
Joined: 2006/12/6 12:05Last Login
: 11/2 18:03
From Germany/NRW
Group:
Registered Users
Caesar III with german language patch including german voice output
Great work, many thanks for the Port.
Running perfect on my X5K.
Re: Porting Augustus (Caesar 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/30 22:36
#19
Just can't stay away
Joined: 2008/4/10 14:57Last Login
: 11/19 10:53
From Northern Ireland
Group:
Registered Users
@kas1e Couldn’t help but notice the OpenClaw drawer in your video. Did you ever make any progress here?
Re: Porting Augustus (Caesar 3) to AmigaOS4
Posted on:
2022/8/31 3:47
#20
Home away from home
Joined: 2007/9/11 12:31Last Login
: 11/19 7:43
From Russia
Group:
Registered Users
@ddni
Quote:
Couldn’t help but notice the OpenClaw drawer in your video. Did you ever make any progress here?Were stopped in 2019 with, and the latest progress were there (if anyone willing to finish it):
https://github.com/pjasicek/OpenClaw/issues/142
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread:
1
(
0 members
and 1 Anonymous Users
)